Panna Cotta with rhubarb syrup

I can’t believe it’s only one week until my summer break starts. The time flies so fast! On Sunday I will be throwing a birthday brunch, so I’m using a lot of energy on preparation stuff. I’ve already made all the foods that can be stored until Sunday, such as grissini, granola, chocolate spread etc. I’m really looking forwoard to this brunch, because I’ve never actually been to a real brunch or hosted one. Fingers crossed that everything will turn out good!

Last Saturday, I really wanted to make dessert, though I wanted to try something without chocolate for once. Yes, you read right – no chocolate! It was a bit hard to choose, but when I saw a picture of a panna cotta with rhubarb syrup I was sold. We also have a lot of rhubarb in our garden, and we better use them before they go bad. The recipe I used was very, very simple – anyone could do it really, just make sure your cream and milk don’t burn! I served this dessert to myself, my mother and her friend, and we all really enjoyed it. The panna cotta was not too sweet, but had a good taste of real vanilla and the rhubarb syrup added a interesting hint of sweet and sour. Just perfect!

I used the panna cotta recipe from the cookbook “Under the Wallnut Tree” and the recipe for the rhubarb syrup here. (Serves 3)

Panna Cotta:

  • 1 1/2 dl cream
  • 1 dl milk
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 gelatin plate
  • 1/4 fresh vanilla bean
  1. Bring cream, milk, sugar and vanilla bean up to a boil. Place the lid on and let simmer for 15 minutes
  2. Lay the gelatin plate in cold water until soft. Add in to the liquid and stirr until it dissolves
  3. Remove the vanilla bean and scrape out the seeds. Add the beans into the mixture
  4. Let the mixture cool down a bit, and then pour into small bowls. Store in the fridge

Rhubarb syrup:

  • 160 grams of fresh rhubarb
  • 1/4 tablespoon grated ginger (I skipped this)
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 45 grams of sugar
  • 25 ml water
  1. Add the rhubarb, ginger, lemon, sugar and water in a heavy bottom pan. Cook on low heat until the rhubarb gets tender.
  2. Remove the rhubarb and keep simmer until the sauce reach a syrup consistency
  3. Let cool a little bit, and pour over the panna cottas. This is best when it’s still warm

I spread some chopped up almonds on top, to get a little crunch. Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

