Lemon Pie

Oh my GOD this weather is awful! Just over night it went from rainy and cozy to…warm and sunny. I can’t do anything in this weather, really. I can’t go outside because I will pass out from the sun, I can’t watch TV because the sun is too bright, but worst of all: I can’t bake because I’m too exhausted to even stand up! I thought we were kind of safe from this kind of weather here in Norway, but I guess not!

Since the sun is yellow and this pie reminds me of summer, this recipe is what I share with you today. Oh, by the way – I had English exam today at school! Don’t think it went that well, though… The theme was pretty difficult and I was all stressed because I had too little time! Anywho, back to the pie: This pie has the perfect balance between sour and sweet, and it’s very refreshing. Even though I’m a chocolate lover, this is one of my top three desserts! It tastes amazing with vanilla ice cream or even vanilla cream.

This recipe is from a Swedish chef called Anna Bergenström. My all time favourite cookbook is Under the Walnut tree and Anna has written it. I would highly recommend this book if you’re looking for a cookbook with beautiful pictures, many recipes and wonderful food. Now: The pie!

The dough:

  • 2 1/2 dl wheat flour
  • 1/2 dl sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar
  • 125 grams of room temperatured butter

The lemon cream:

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 dl sugar
  • 1/2 dl wheat flour
  • The zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 dl pressed lemon juice
  • Icing sugar
  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C
  2. Mix flour, sugar, vanilla sugar and butter in a food processor until it forms to a ball.
  3. With floured fingers, press the dough into a pie dish.
  4. Bake in the oven for about 15 minutes.
  5. Whisk eggs and sugar until white and fluffy and add in the flour, lemon juice and zest. Pour into the crust.
  6. Bake for 8-10 further minutes. Remember: The filling is supposed to be a bit liquid, it will set when it cools.
  7. Sprinkle som icing sugar on top so it looks pretty.
One response to “Lemon Pie

  1. This pie looks very delicious, might have to try it one day. Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

