American Pancakes

I’ve tried so many different american pancakes recipes in my life, but I never really found the one. Until now. Many times I tried a recipe the pancakes never seemed to “puff up” the way I wanted (haha, you should know that I am not easy to impress when it comes to food by now!). Also, I’ve tried many recipes that claim to be healthier than regular pancakes because they contain whole wheat flour, oatmeal, cottage cheese and blah blah blah. But I’ve experienced that if I want to eat a good classic american pancake, I can’t cheat.

I actually found this recipe in a sweedish cookbook and it’s called Sommarens söta or translated to english The sweet summer-ish. At first when I read the recipe I thought it would be a bit unnecessary to whisk the egg whites to stiff peaks, but I understood that that was the reason the pancakes were so fluffy and soft.

Here is the recipe and it makes 8 big pancakes:

  • 3 1/2 dl wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla sugar
  •  1 pinch of salt
  • 3 1/2 dl sour milk (please google it since it’s a scandinavian thing so I don’t know what could replace it. Mix sour cream and milk?)
  • 1/2 dl vegetable oil
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 egg white
  • Butter
  1. Mix the sour milk, oil and egg yolk to a smooth mixture.
  2. Pour in the dry ingredients to the liquid.
  3. Whisk the egg white until it has stiff peaks and gently fold into the batter.
  4. Preheat a frying pan and use some butter so the pancakes won’t stick to the pan.
  5. And start to fry your pancakes!
  6. Serve with fresh berries, butter, syrup, jam or whatever your heart desire!
One response to “American Pancakes

  1. I love pancakes with berries, this looks soo good!

Leave a Reply

